Shipping Restrictions

Pepper Spray Laws

State Laws Regarding Aerosol Deterrents.

We get questions everyday as to which states are legal and which states have restrictive laws regarding sale, possession, and use of pepper based deterrent sprays.

The following summary of our research reflects what the various laws are on the sale and use of non-lethal spray weapons. In no way should this be regarded as the final word on the legal status of said laws. This report is not intended to take place of legal counsel nor should it be looked at as being any form of legal advice. Please check with your local authorities to obtain the latest information.

Remember that Federal law prohibits the carrying of any type of chemical weapon on commercial aircraft, in federal buildings, prisons, and courts.

Alabama- Has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Alabama. 

AlaskaPepper spray is legal in Alaska, with certain restrictions. State law prohibits the sale of a defensive weapon, including pepper spray, to a person under 18 years old. It is also illegal to possess in a school without the permission of school authorities.

Arizona- Has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Arizona.

Arkansas- It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship pepper spray to Arkansas, yet the container cannot exceed 5 fluid ounces.

California- It is legal to sell, purchase, and legally use tear gas or pepper spray containing up to 2.5 oz of product. Certificates of training are no longer required. Products are not permitted for sale to felons or minors. Product packaging must meet standard Dept of Justice requirements.

Colorado- Has no specific statute prohibiting or limiting pepper spray, or similar products. Therefore, it is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Colorado

Connecticut- It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship pepper spray to Connecticut. There is no specific statute concerning pepper spray.

D.C. - Registration form must be completed at purchase and vendor must collect and forward form to the Metropolitan Police Department. POM CANNOT SHIP TO DC.

Delaware- It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship pepper spray to Delaware, however, you must be at least 18 years old to possess pepper spray.

Florida- It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship pepper spray to Florida, but the pepper spray containers cannot be more than 2 ounces.

Georgiahas no specific statute prohibiting or limiting pepper spray, or similar products. Therefore, it is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Georgia.

Hawaii- it is legal to use and possess pepper spray to Hawaii, though you must be at least 18 years old to purchase or possess pepper spray. The maximum size of a container that can be mailed is .5 ounces. POM CANNOT SHIP TO HAWAII. 

Idahoit is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Idaho.

Illinois- it is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Illinois, though you must be at least18 years old to purchase or possess pepper spray

Indiana - has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Indiana.

Iowa has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Iowa.

Kansashas no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Kansas.

Kentuckyhas no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Kentucky.

Louisianahas no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to Louisiana.

Maineit is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Maine, though the criminal use of disabling chemicals is a violation of the law. As with most states, the use of pepper spray must be in self-defense.

Maryland- it is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Maryland.

MassachusettsIt is legal to buy, use, or possess pepper spray in Massachusetts, but there are several restrictions. It is not legal to ship human formula pepper spray to an address in Massachusetts, though animal spray can be legally shipped to the state.

It is illegal to purchase or possess pepper spray if you have been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor punishable by two years imprisonment, a violent crime, or if you have been committed to a hospital or a mental illness institution.

Michigan-  It is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Michigan, but there are several restrictions. In Michigan:

  • Pepper spray cannot be more than 35 grams of any combination of orthochlorobenzalmalononitrile and inert ingredients;
  • Pepper spray cannot be more than 18% oleoresin capsicum;
  • Pepper spray cannot contain an ultraviolet dye and not more than 18% oleoresin capsicum;
  • Minors are prohibited from purchasing pepper spray.

Minnesota - It is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Minnesota, though you must be 16 years old to possess pepper spray. 

Mississippi- No laws regarding the sale, purchase or use of sprays for self-protection.

Missouri- No laws in effect forbidding possession or sale of non-lethal spray products.

Montana- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

Nebraska- No laws prohibiting or regulating tear gas type products.

NevadaIt is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Nevada, though there are restrictions. Minors are not allowed to possess pepper spray and the maximum container is 2 ounces.

New Hampshire- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

New Jersey- Permissible to sell, possess and legally use 3/4 oz. or less by anyone for personal protection.

New Mexico- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

New YorkIt is legal to use or possess pepper spray in New York (up to 10% OC), but there are several restrictions to buy pepper spray. In New York:

  • Maxiumum strength for sale is 7% OC
  • No internet sales are premitted
  • You must be at least 18 years old to possess pepper spray;
  • Those who have been convicted of a felony or assault are prohibited from possessing pepper spray.
  • POM CANNOT SHIP CONSUMER DIRECT TO NY STATE

North Carolina- Any individual who has not been convicted of a felony can purchase for use for protection a tear gas product not exceeding 1.69 ounces.

North Dakota has no laws that prohibit individuals from carrying or using pepper spray. It is legal to buy, carry, use, or ship to North Dakota.

Ohio- No laws regarding  the sale or purchase of non-lethal spray weapons. 

Oklahoma- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

Oregon - No laws regarding the sale, purchase and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons. However, Portland has a city ordinance which prohibits the possession and use of a tear gas dispensing device.

Pennsylvania- No specific laws or regulations concerning the sale, purchase or legal use of non-lethal sprays.

Rhode Island- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

South Carolina- Lawful for a person for self-defense purposes only to possess, use, transport, sell or buy, but with a limitation of 1.69 ounces,

South Dakota- No statutes or regulations concerning the sale, purchase, and legal use of chemical sprays.

Tennessee- No laws regarding the sale, purchase, and legal use of aerosols, gases, etc.

TexasIt is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Texas, though state law says it must be a “small chemical dispenser.”

Utah- No prohibition against the use of chemical aerosol sprays as long as the product does not cause death or serious bodily injury.

Vermont- Statutes do not regulate or prohibit the sale of any aerosol spray used as a defensive weapon.

Virginia - No laws regarding the sale, purchase and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

Washington- No laws regarding the sale, purchase and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

West Virginia - No laws regarding the sale, purchase and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.

WisconsinIt is legal to buy, use, possess, or ship pepper spray to Wisconsin, though there are several restrictions. In Wisconsin:

  • Pepper spray containers must be less than 2 ounces;
  • Pepper spray must be 10% of less oleoresin capsicum (OC);
  • Pepper spray cannot be disguised or camouflaged;
  • You must be at least 18 years old to purchase or possess pepper spray, though there is an exemption for minors with parental permission.

Wyoming- No laws regarding the sale, purchase and legal use of non-lethal spray weapons.